Scholarship Program

The “E” in Ahepa stands for “Educational.” That is a major mission of the organization.

For many years, Chester-Delco Ahepa Chapter No. 79 has been awarding scholarships to young adults affiliated with the local Ahepa and/or Daughters Chapters and/or with St. George Greek Orthodox Church of Media, PA.

In 2011 alone, there were 13 recipients receiving a total of $12,000 in scholarships from the Chapter.

However, the numbers of youth in the Community is expanding (there are over 40 young people in St. George’s Goya right now). In order to maintain and grow the Scholarship Program to accommodate the ever increasing numbers of worthy students, more funds are needed.

Chester-Delco Ahepa Chapter No. 79 is now actively soliciting tax deductible donation funds for scholarships and seeking the support of philanthropic and generous individuals and organizations so that we may have more resources to support these capable young people as they engage in their academic pursuits. In 2000, the Chapter established two named, perpetual, memorial scholarships dedicated to Brothers Steve M. Pahides and George N. Kaloudis in recognition of their dedication and love of the Order. In 2006, the Chapter dedicated a third named, perpetual, scholarship to the Kaffes Family as appreciation for their years of devotion and support to the AHEPA Family. Since 2007, a named scholarship has been given as a memorial to Brother Angello J. Contoris in loving memory by his family as a testament to his years of devotion to the AHEPA, as well as to the youth of St. George as their Greek School instructor. Since 2008, Mary Beldecos and Helen J. Beldecos have generously donated a named scholarship. Since 2009, our sister chapter, the Daughters of Penelope Laodice #246, has added a named scholarship. In 2010, we were again blessed by generous scholarship donations from Bill and Stephanie Kalogredis, Alexander and Dora Hionis, Nick Skoutelas, Michael Pahides, and Jennifer and Alex Soutos. We are truly thankful for the generous donors who through the years have continued to support the ideals of the AHEPA and the growth of the Scholarship Program, and welcome others to assist in this worthy goal.

To have a named scholarship for the Spring of 2013, a minimum donation of $1,000 is required to be received by the Chapter by February 15, 2013.

If anyone wishes to establish a perpetual named scholarship, a $30,000 donation is required. This may be paid over a time period of five or fewer years. Once the donated amount totals $30,000, the awarding of the perpetual scholarship in the name of the donor’s choice will begin.

If you have any questions or would like to donate, please contact Bill Kalogredis at (610) 687-8314 (or by email @, Lou Budike at (610) 876-3192, George Kaffes at (610) 874-0705, or Jim Kemmerer at (978) 764-9616.

Scholarship Recipients:


Alexander Politarhos

Valerie Lessik

Christos Voutsakis

Maria Tsingas

Peter Lessik

Issac Smith

James A. Kemmerer

Maria Papdopoulos

Rebecca Stump